WeChat is a Chinese messaging application that has been gaining popularity over the past years. It has also been said that more users are signing up and downloading the app each month. This is also a time in the world where communicating with anyone anywhere is done in real-time. It has its advantages as we do not need to wait for a long time to receive their message.
However, the rising popularity comes with its disadvantages too for users such as yourself. It can become stressful for some of us as there is also a need to reply to the message immediately or a person could be constantly messaging you. You can take a break from these by blocking that person so you do not receive any messages or have any online interaction with them on WeChat. We will talk about how you can block and unblock someone in this article.
Part 1: What happens when you block someone on WeChat?
If you have blocked someone, the reason could be due to different reasons as they might have affected you emotionally, mentally, or physically. You are free to block this person to give yourself some peace of mind and to cut off any virtual connections you might have with this person.
Also, there are a lot of things that they will not be able to do with you on WeChat. For example, the blocked person will not be able to send you any messages, view your moments, or even add you to a group chat. That person will also not get any notification that you blocked them so you can do
Part 2: Block Vs. Delete WeChat Contacts
Blocking and deleting your WeChat contacts are completely different and we will explain to you the difference between the two. When you block someone, you are not deleting that person from your contact list and you are also able to unblock them in the future and be able to message them, add them to a group chat or view their moments.
However, when you delete a WeChat contact, you are deleting their account from your contacts and you cannot send them a message, view their moments, or add them to a group chat. Therefore, the only way to be able to interact with a deleted contact would be to add them again to your contacts.
Part 3: How to block someone on WeChat?
When you decide to block someone in WeChat, they will not receive any notification that you blocked them. However, they will know it when they try to send you a message and the message gets rejected.
So you probably already have a person in mind that you want to block in WeChat, we will share with all of you the steps on how you can do this both via Android and IOS phones.
Option 1: For Android phone users
- Step 1: Open the WeChat application and go to “Contacts”.
- Step 2: From there, you can choose the contact that you want to block.
- Step 3: You can go to the upper right part of the screen and click on the three-dotted option.
- Step 4: You can then look for the “Block” option and turn that on.
- Step 5: You will then receive a pop-up box asking if you confirm to block the user and you can click on “OK”.
Option 2: For IOS users
- Step 1: Open the WeChat application and select “Contacts”.
- Step 2: Select the contact you want to block from contacts.
- Step 3: Click the three-dotted menu which is located on the upper right side of the screen.
- Step 4: You can look for the “Block” option from the slider menu and turn that on.
- Step 5: You will receive a pop-up asking if you confirm blocking the contact and you can choose “OK”.
Part 4: How to unblock a phone number？
Maybe now you have decided you want to talk to that person that you blocked. That is also possible with just a few steps.
- Step 1: Open the WeChat application and go to “Me” located on the lower right of the screen.
- Step 2: From there, go to the “Settings” options and choose “Privacy”.
- Step 3: Look for the “Blocked List” option and click that. You will then see the contacts that you blocked previously.
- Step 4: Choose the contact that you wish to unblock. Then go to the three-dotted menu that is located on the upper right of the screen.
- Step 5: Look for the “Unblock” option and confirm it by clicking “OK” on the pop-up.
Part 5: FAQs
Question 1: Will a WeChat User Know I Blocked Them?
No, the user will not get a notification that you have blocked them. However, we have another article that will explain what happens when you block someone, “How To Know If Someone Blocked or Deleted You on WeChat?”.
Question 2: Can a Blocked Contact in WeChat Still Message You?
Yes, they can try to message you but the message will be rejected and you will not receive it.
Question 3: How to transfer Your WeChat Chat History to a New Phone?
If you have a new phone and want to transfer all of your WeChat chat histories, you can use the best backup software out there for WeChat, Wondershare’s MobileTrans. It will help you keep those previous chat histories in storage.
Blocking a contact can sometimes be the best option to give yourself peace of mind from the constant messages that you receive especially in this time of hyper-communication. It is good to give ourselves a break from everyone and when we have gained back our energy, we can continue communication with our friends or loved ones by unblocking them and continuing our connection with them.