It is a normal day and you wanted to get in touch with your friends to ask them to hang out this week. So you sent a message to them and a few hours have passed but they still have not read or replied to your message. It will get you wondering why that is happening, thoughts might arise that there might have been bugs in the app, or is the person you have sent the message to avoiding you are some of the possible reasons. But there is another plausible reason for them to not read or reply to your message and it could be that they might have blocked you or deleted you from their friends' list.
It has been said that finding the contact person who deleted you from their list is not easy to do. However, in this article, we will share with you the steps that you can follow to find out whether that friend could not get back to you at all or has actually deleted you from their friends.
Part 1: What happens when you are blocked on WeChat?
You may now be wondering if your friend has blocked you and you want to know or confirm whether they have done it. WeChat does not send you any alert or notification when you have been blocked. There are a few ways to find out whether someone has blocked you and we will talk more about those options in this article.
When you are blocked on WeChat, a few things will happen that will give you a theory that you have been blocked. One thing that will happen is that you are unable to send them any messages or it does not send successfully. Another would be that you are unable to see their profile or any moments on their page.
Part 2: Why do people block others? What are the reasons to block someone?
In this time of instant messaging, you could probably receive a lot of messages that you do not want to receive at all or you have this friend who won't stop messaging you all the time. So there are a lot of reasons why someone would block you on WeChat and we have listed possible reasons that will give you an idea of why you have been blocked or why you would block someone.
- Reason 1: To stop receiving any messages from that friend or person.
- Reason 2: You receive too many messages and do not want to bother replying to them.
- Reason 3: You want to stop all connections that you have with that person.
- Reason 4: They probably are staying away from using WeChat.
- Reason 5: In rare cases, they might have also accidentally blocked you on WeChat.
Part 3: Different ways to know if someone blocked you on WeChat on iPhone/Android
With all the reasons that someone could block you on WeChat, now you want to test for yourself whether your friend has actually blocked you on WeChat. In this part of this article, we will share with you the methods on how to check if someone blocked you.
Option 1: Sending a message
You can check if someone blocked you by sending them a message for this option.
- Step 1: Open the WeChat application and go to your contacts.
- Step 2: Now choose the contact you want to send the message to and choose the "Messages" option.
- Step 3: Now, you can type a message you would like to send to this person and press "Send".
- Step 4: If the message is sent successfully, then you are not blocked. However, if the message is rejected, then they have blocked you. You can refer to how the rejected message would look below.
Option 2: Checking their moments and thumbnail pictures
Checking that contact's moments and thumbnail pictures is another method you can do to check whether you have been blocked.
- Step 1: Open your WeChat application and go to "Contacts".
- Step 2: From there, look for the contact that you want to check. If you cannot see either any of their moments or thumbnail pictures, then they have blocked you.
Option 3: Create a group chat with that person
Another option that you can do to check whether you have been blocked would be to create a group chat with that person.
- Step 1: Open the WeChat application and go to "Chats".
- Step 2: On the upper right of the screen, look for the "+" sign and choose "new chat".
- Step 3: From there, you can start adding the contact of the person that you think has blocked you and another person from your contacts.
- Step 4: Then click on "Done". If the person can join the group chat but you cannot see their Moments, then they have blocked you.
Option 4: Can I send a message to someone who blocked me on WeChat?
If you have been blocked then you will not be able to send a message to that person and the message will show as rejected. The only way you can send a message successfully is if they have unblocked you.
BONUS TIP! Backing Up Your WeChat Chat History To Avoid Data Loss
We have a bonus tip for you if you want to keep a backlog of all of your chat history even from the person that blocked you in WeChat, you can use one of the best backup software for WeChat, Wondershare's MobileTrans - Backup & Restore.
Here is a video for you to learn how to backup with MobileTrans:
You can use the tips that we shared in this article to see whether your friend has blocked you or not. However, if they did, you have to remember that there could be other reasons why they blocked you and the best thing to know is to ask them yourself. Nevertheless, do not let it bum you out as WeChat is just one of the popular messaging applications out there and you can still use other applications.