At this stage, the users always want to know how to delete their Instagram accounts permanently. If you are also worried about and want to know "how do I delete my Instagram account permanently?", you will need to go through this comprehensive guide.
Part 1: Should I Delete Instagram?
Remember that deleting an Instagram account means that you are going to remove your account from Instagram permanently and will not be able to get any of the information back in any way. So if you are having privacy issues or are not comfortable using Instagram, you should think twice before deleting the Instagram account permanently.
Remember that deleting Instagram can never be undone and you will never be able to restore any data afterward. It is also important to note that when you delete your Instagram account, you lose all of your media files, messages, contacts, and everything you have ever done or seen on Instagram. Moreover, you will never be able to get visible with the same username again.
Basically, sometimes a user faces various data privacy issues that compel him to delete his/her Instagram account permanently. The same is the case with WhatsApp accounts. If any of your information becomes exposed, you will never want to use that particular WhatsApp account again. For this reason, you should also know how to check if someone else is accessing your WhatsApp account. Read our article on checking someone's access to your stolen WhatsApp account.
Part 2: How do I permanently delete my Instagram account？
An Instagram account can only be erased using a web browser, just like it can be deactivated. Try these steps to permanently erase your Instagram account. Remember that Instagram also gives you an option to download all of your data before deleting your Instagram account in this way you will be able to restore or backup all of your information in a downloaded file.
Now let's go to the process through which you can permanently delete your Instagram account and get rid of your Instagram activities.
- Step 1: Go to the Instagram website and log in to your account.
- Step 2: Go to the 'Delete Your Account' tab on Instagram. Then, choose your reason for leaving from the drop-down menu.
- Step 3: Click 'Permanently delete my account' after entering your password.
- Step 4: Your Instagram account has been permanently deactivated or deleted
Part 3: How long does Instagram keep my data after deleting my account?
As it is quite possible to delete your IG account permanently, you will lose access to almost everything from the Instagram account including:
- Your profile media including photos and videos
- Everything that you ever posted as Instagram story photos and videos
- Highlights from your Instagram stories and your story archive
- Messages Direct
Note that communications you've unsent from your Instagram account aren't included in your Data Download file.
The content you delete is immediately deleted from your account and transferred to Recently Deleted.
Content in Recently Erased is automatically deleted after 30 days, or up to 24 hours if the story isn't in your tales archive. During that time, you may retrieve deleted information from your account in the Instagram app for Android and iPhone Recently Deleted section and either restore or permanently remove it.
Part 4: FAQs
1. What is the difference between deactivating and deleting an Instagram account?
Based on your preferences, you can deactivate or permanently erase your Instagram.
Deactivating your account is only temporary. However, it will hide your profile, followers, images, likes, and comments from other people while it is removed. Simply log back into your login to recover all of this information and resume regular use of Instagram.
You cannot undo the deletion of your Instagram account, and you cannot reinstate a deleted account. When you deactivate your Instagram account, all of your data is permanently wiped, including photographs, followers, likes, etc. Furthermore, if you decide to sign up for Instagram again in the hereafter, neither you nor anybody else can be allowed to use the same username.
2. How do I temporarily disable my Instagram account?
Instagram cannot be deactivated using the app; it must be done through a web browser on the Instagram website. If you wish to take a vacation from Instagram, follow these steps to deactivate or temporarily restrict or disable your account:
- Step 1: Log in to your Instagram account and click on the person symbol to your profile page.
- Step 2: Select 'Edit Profile,' then 'Temporarily deactivate my account' at the bottom of the screen.
- Step 3: When prompted, choose a reason from the drop-down option for why you are deactivating your account.
- Step 4: Enter your password again and choose 'Temporarily deactivate the account.'
- Step 5: Your account has been disabled, and other users will be unable to access it until you log in again.
3. What happens when you temporarily disable your Instagram account?
When you temporarily disable your Instagram account, your profile becomes dormant, and other people may not be able to see what you have posted in your profile in the past. However, when you log back in again, you become visible on Instagram with the same username and your profile also becomes activated.
When you are a social media user, you must have information about how to permanently delete Instagram, pause an Instagram account, or cancel an Instagram account. If you also keep on asking if there is a way to delete Instagram accounts, this article should have guided you entirely on how to erase Instagram and what happens when you disable your Instagram account.
Now that you have all the information, you no longer need to ask: How do I delete my Instagram account or how to disable Instagram temporarily.