How to delete one-week-old WhatsApp messages for everyone?

Written By Nicola Massimo | Aug 31,2021

Do you need to delete old WhatsApp messages from everyone? Let us see how to delete old WhatsApp messages for everyone with easy steps along with practical interpretation.

Introduction

WhatsApp is a free online messaging application used by most people. Some use dictionary to correct their spelling while typing, and sometimes this may lead to errors by typing a different word other than the one you meant to type. Similarly, some may send a wrong message to an individual and so on. Have you committed any such mistake while organizing and sent it without noticing? Then here we are to provide you with the solution to correct your error. You may wonder how to delete old messages. Well, you can delete old messages. Now the question, “how to delete old WhatsApp messages for everyone,” may pop up in your mind? Here we are to help you to overcome this query with simple steps.

Part 1: WhatsApp delete for everyone, time limit

WhatsApp allows you to delete messages to all recipients within a period. Want to know how to delete WhatsApp messages for everyone within the time limit? Then you are at a proper place to find it. 

1. Delete message for me

There may be few messages you want to delete in your chat, so you can’t find them anymore. WhatsApp gives you the option to do the same. Open the conversation in which you want to delete the message.

Step 1: Select Message

Using long-press, select the message or messages you want to delete and click on the delete icon on top.

[Alt: “delete”]

Step 2: Delete Messages – Two Option

a. If you are trying to delete the message at the instant you received/sent it, then among the three options in the pop-up, click on “Delete for me.” Then the message gets deleted without leaving behind any trace.

[Alt: “delete for me”]

b. If you try to delete it after an hour, then a pop-up message will appear with two options. Click on the “Delete for me” option.

[Alt: “two delete options”]

2. Delete WhatsApp message for everyone

You may face a situation where the message you have typed and sent in WhatsApp contains some mistakes, and you don’t want anyone else to see the message. Do not worry, as WhatsApp has a unique feature that allows you to delete a specific message you have sent to an individual or group. Note that the following options will only display if you try to delete the message within an hour after you have sent it. Also, this feature is supported only for the texts you sent and not for the received messages.

Step 1: Choose Messag

Select the message you want to delete using a long press. Click on the delete icon, which displays on top.

[Alt: “delete icon”]

Step 2: Remove Message

A pop-up message displays with three options. Click on the “Delete for Everyone” option.

[Alt: “options under delete”]

Step 3: Screen After Message Delete

Now the selected message will get deleted for everyone who received the conversation, and on your screen, the message will be deleted with a saying, “You deleted this message.”

[Alt: “deleted message”]

Important Note:

You can also delete multiple messages simultaneously by selecting the texts and following the same procedure discussed above. After one hour, you will be able to delete messages only for yourself rather than deleting the messages for everyone who received it. So deleting a message depends on your decision and quick action. There is also a chance that the recipients might see your message before deleting it if you are deleting it late.

Part 2: How to delete WhatsApp messages for everyone up to One Week Old?

After getting to know how to delete messages for everyone, you may wonder that “Can I not delete a message for everyone after 1 hour?” Well, yes, you can! Here we provide you with steps for how to delete old WhatsApp messages for everyone. 

Note that this is possible only if it was you who sent the message. Without any further delay, let’s get into the process of doing so. First of all, turn off your Wi-Fi or mobile data on your device.

Step 1: Visit Apps and Notification

Go to “Settings” and click on “Apps” or “Apps and Notifications.”

[Alt: “settings app”]

Step 2: Select WhatsApp

Amongst the list of applications available, click on “WhatsApp.”

[Alt: “whatsapp app”]

Step 3: Pause WhatsAp

Select the button “Force stop” and click on “OK” on the pop-up message which will pause the functioning of WhatsApp.

[Alt: “force stop”]

Step 4: Set Date and Time Manuall

Select “Date and time” under Settings.

Turn off the automatic time setter.

Manually set the date and time, which matches the message you want to delete. 

[Alt: “date time”]

Step 5: Delete Message for Everyon

Now go to WhatsApp and select the message to be deleted. You will now see a pop-up message with three deleting options. Click on “Delete for Everyone” to delete the message for everyone who has received it.

[Alt: “date time whatsapp”]

Step 6: Change Time and Date to Automati

Now turn on your Wi-Fi or mobile data, and under Settings, change back the date and time to be automatic.

Note: If you want, you can now check that you successfully deleted the messages for everyone in WhatsApp.

Conclusion

Thus, now you all need not worry if you forgot to delete the message in WhatsApp. I hope that we could clarified your doubt on, “how to delete old WhatsApp messages for everyone?” Now go on and rectify the mistakes which took place earlier at ease.

New Trendings

Nicola Massimo

staff Editor

0 Comment(s)